“Annual OXI Day (October, 28, 1940) The Turning Point of WW2” Panel Discussion

Join us on Sunday, October 26 at 2 P.M. EST ((11 A.M. PST, 9 P.M. Athens EEST) for EMBCA’s “Annual OXI Day (October, 28, 1940) The Turning Point of WW2” Panel Discussion” Zoom Webinar in Association with AHEPA’s Hellenic Cultural Commission.

OXI Day (October 28, 1940) a national Hellenic holiday represents when the Hellenic Prime Minister Metaxas was awoken to respond to a series of demands from a representative of a WW2 Axis Power which would have allowed foreign troops free reign in Greece a neutral nation at the time. His response to these demands a simple “OXI/NO” led to battles by the Hellenes of historical international consequences for Europe and the free world. It was the first time in the European theater that an Axis Power was defeated after them taking over country after country, raised the hopes of occupied Europe, and caused the Nazi forces which were scheduled to attack the Soviet Union (Operation Barbarossa) to divert their forces and invade Greece instead. This diversion led to a delay in the Nazi invasion of the U.S.S.R. and the Nazi’s eventual defeat there in the Soviet winter. As per the title of this event OXI Day was a turning point in WW2 and had an importance that went beyond the Hellenic Republic and war international in scope. In addition despite the ultimate Hellenic defeat, having fought long and hard , the bravery of the Hellenic people during those difficult six months also had the effect of changing how Hellenic Americans were perceived in America. It transformed them from being thought of as the “Other” to being finally excepted as Americans. These and other aspects of OXI Day will be elaborated on in the presentations. Join us.